docu-mental: mapping the american states of mind
the docu-mental podcast
Do Millennials shun or run to God?
0:00
-52:17

Paid episode

The full episode is only available to paid subscribers of docu-mental: mapping the american states of mind

Do Millennials shun or run to God?

vol. 1 issue 36

Greetings to my Premium Subscribers,

This podcast, which is the first episode in a series called Free Radicals, is a little risky. That’s because while there might be a copy error here or there, docu-mental is a serious publishing enterprise. Which is why when I shared that I wanted to do a series of interviews with my 23 year-old son, a musician and amateur philosopher, Rowan Groth, one of my production advisors asked me why I would want to run a podcast that features the point of view of someone who is not “famous” or established somehow.

My reasoning is that because Rowan and I have good conversations that others tend to like hearing, even if they go on a while longer than most moms and sons tend to talk. And the other reason is because my son is an iconoclastic Millennial and I think it’s important to the future of America to know what their mindsets are. They are just not going to do things the way the generations before them did.

One could say that is true for all generations, but not in the Digital Age.

In my son’s case, he had a scholarship for college, which he did use, but then didn’t finish because, as he put it to me, he does want to finish school, but he doesn’t have to do all things sequentially.

“School can wait. I want to write music and perform as much as I can before I turn 29 and my testosterone levels drop, making me less creative,” he reasoned with me when describing why he’d left college for the second time.

Listen to this episode with a 7-day free trial

Subscribe to docu-mental: mapping the american states of mind to listen to this post and get 7 days of free access to the full post archives.

docu-mental: mapping the american states of mind
the docu-mental podcast
For citizens seeking deep mental roots, not lists of shallow instructions.