docu-mental: mapping the american states of mind
the docu-mental podcast
How debt keeps us chained to a corrupt system
0:00
-53:45

How debt keeps us chained to a corrupt system

And what you can do about it

episode 39

Debt collector Furor
Debt Collection Furor. Credit: SoulWing98

Greetings,

I’m really tired of being used by a corrupt system to keep it generating more corruption. And that is too much of how debt is used in this country.

In this episode, my guest is Marie Megge, a Michigan-based debt counseling expert who is not easy to find because she doesn’t use your money to prop up her company through expensive ad campaigns. But once I did find her as sought help to come out from under insurmountable debt post-divorce, I wanted to offer a way for my audience to find her, too.

Marie and I discuss a range of issues related to the debt industry, but the primary focus here is how you can use her knowledge to help yourself become unstuck from a corrupt system that is all too willing to let you suffer so they can profit.

I do want to give you the heads up that not all of the aspects of the industry that I had wanted to cover made it into this podcast. So, I will do a follow up!

In this episode, Marie and I discuss:

  • The moral injury the debt industry hinges upon

  • How to ensure you don’t get scammed by debt counseling firms who can be jsut as evil and predatory as the banks!

  • How much energy and hope can return to your life when you have help facing an industry designed to make you feel badly about yourself

  • How long it takes to restore your credit rating once you’ve entered into debt settlement negotiations

  • The process of debt negotiation itself

What I will circle back to is:

  • How and why banks assign our credit ratings using secret metrics that allow them to justify whatever interest they want to assign.

  • How interest rates often are irrelevant to the lenders’ calculus

  • How they remain profitable regardless of whether we ever pay off our credit cards.  

Thanks for listening. Please share this episode with as many people as possible.

Peace,

Whitney

Share

And if you’re curious what News from the Ensouled Universe is…

News from the Ensouled Universe
A window closes, but a door opens...
SPECIAL EDITION Greetings! Thank you for your patience with me getting our podcast out to you this week. Ordinarily, I try to just smile through the complexities I have been facing of late, preferring not to let you know I am a little duck on the water, my cute little feet (okay, my size 10 feet) paddling furiously underneath as I look to be gliding effort…
Read more
0 Comments
docu-mental: mapping the american states of mind
the docu-mental podcast
For citizens seeking deep mental roots, not lists of shallow instructions.